Child Care Aware® of North Dakota is a program
of Lutheran Social Services of North Dakota.

Core Competencies Define Quality Care

North Dakota Core Competencies are research-based guidelines that define expectations for those who teach and care for children from birth through eight years old. These guidelines also help parents, communities and policy leaders make informed decisions about early childhood programs and care.

A "Road Map" to Advance Workforce Skills
Each of the eight competency areas has five levels. These levels define a range of skills and knowledge from the beginning practitioner to the professional who holds an advanced degree in early care and education. Child care providers, teachers and all who work with young children can use these guidelines as a “road map” to assess their skills, create a professional development plan, advance their career and improve job satisfaction.
Review the Core Competencies Overview to learn more.

ND Core Competencies & Outcomes